Protected Characteristics


At Hill View Primary we promote and learn about the protected characteristics.

As a school community, it is part of our ethos and values to work to ensure that our children understand that:

  • Our differences are celebrated
  • We are equal in our differences
  • Everyone is unique and respected
  • Everyone is included in our school and community

Under the Equality Act 2010, there are 9 Protected Characteristics which all schools in Britain should be able to demonstrate that no form of discrimination is tolerated and that pupils show respect for those who share the protected characteristics.

The 9 Protected Characteristics are:

1. Age
2. Disability
3. Gender reassignment
4. Marital and Civil Partnership
5. Pregnancy and maternity
6. Race
7. Religion or belief
8. Sex
9. Sexual orientation

At Hill View, we actively promote these in our whole school curriculum and consistently work to embed them in our school’s ethos and values. Teaching and learning about protected characteristics is fully integrated into our PSHE lessons, through age-appropriate content across the use of our SCARF spiral curriculum.

However, some protected characteristics benefit from the in-depth coverage that will give children time to explore the knowledge and attitudes that will help them develop an appreciation of them. Below are a list of the lessons that provide this greater depth to the relevant protected characteristics.